Security Warning WiFi WPA2 protocol susceptible to multiple vulnerabilities

Security Warning WiFi WPA2 protocol susceptible to multiple vulnerabilities

Reference: CVE-2017-13077, CVE-2017-13078, CVE-2017-13079, CVE-2017-13080, CVE-2017-13081, CVE-2017-13082, CVE-2017-13084, CVE-2017-13086, CVE-2017-13087, CVE-2017-13088
Version: 1.1

Systèmes Impactés

Aruba, Cisco, Espressif Systems, Fortinet, Inc., FreeBSD Project, Google, HostAP, Intel Corporation, Juniper Networks, Microchip Technology, Microsoft Corporation, OpenBSD, Peplink, Red Hat Inc., Samsung Mobile, Sierra Wireless, Toshiba Commerce Solutions, Toshiba Electronic Devices & Storage Corporation, Toshiba Memory Corporation, Ubiquiti Networks, Ubuntu, Watchguard Technologies, Inc, ZyXEL.

Source: https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...

Type

Contournement du chiffrement par une attaque homme au milieu “attaques par réinstallation de clefs”.

Sources

https://www.krackattacks.com/
https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...

Risques

Les connexions à des points d’accès protégées par WPA2 ne peuvent plus être considérées comme complètement sécurisées. Le problème se situant au niveau du protocole, la plupart des réseaux WiFi protégés, y compris les réseaux WPA2 personnel et entreprise, sont affectés et vulnérables à certaines ou toutes les attaques mentionnées. Les conséquences incluent le déchiffrement de la connexion, la réutilisation de paquets de données, l’injection de contenu, et la prise de contrôle d’une connexion.

Actions Recommandées

Tous les autres appareils pouvant utiliser un réseau sans-fil, à la maison comme au bureau, devront recevoir des correctifs de leurs fabricants afin de corriger les vulnérabilités. Nos collègues du CERT de l'Université Carnegie Mellon maintiennent un tableau avec les informations sur les fournisseurs: https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...
Utiliser WPA2-PSK avec AES-CCMP en combinaison avec TLS, HTTPS ou via un VPN reste la solution la plus sûre.

Security Warning WiFi WPA2 protocol susceptible to multiple vulnerabilities

Security Warning WiFi WPA2 protocol susceptible to multiple vulnerabilities

Reference: CVE-2017-13077, CVE-2017-13078, CVE-2017-13079, CVE-2017-13080, CVE-2017-13081, CVE-2017-13082, CVE-2017-13084, CVE-2017-13086, CVE-2017-13087, CVE-2017-13088
Version: 1.1

Affected

Aruba, Cisco, Espressif Systems, Fortinet, Inc., FreeBSD Project, Google, HostAP, Intel Corporation, Juniper Networks, Microchip Technology, Microsoft Corporation, OpenBSD, Peplink, Red Hat Inc., Samsung Mobile, Sierra Wireless, Toshiba Commerce Solutions, Toshiba Electronic Devices & Storage Corporation, Toshiba Memory Corporation, Ubiquiti Networks, Ubuntu, Watchguard Technologies, Inc, ZyXEL.

Source: https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...

Type

Encryption bypass through Man-in-the-Middle "key reinstallation attacks".

Sources

https://www.krackattacks.com/
https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...

Risks

If your device connects to a wireless WPA2 access point you can no longer be certain of a secure connection. Because this is a protocol-level issue, most protected Wi-Fi networks, including personal and enterprise WPA2 networks, are affected and vulnerable to some or all of the mentioned man-to-the-middle attacks. These result in for instance decryption, packet replay, content injection and TCP connection hijacking.

Summary

Several key management vulnerabilities in the WPA2 security protocol were discovered allowing key reinstallation attacks. This can be exploited only if combined with a Man-in-the-Middle attack to break the encryption used for WPA2 connections.

Recommended Action

All wireless enabled devices, corporate or at home, will require a security update to be applied. If available, patch rigorously, our colleagues at CERT Carnegie Mellon University maintain a table with Vendor Information: https://www.kb.cert.org/vuls/byvendor?searchview&Query=FIELD+Reference=2...
Using WPA2-PSK with AES-CCMP in combination with TLS, HTTPS or through a VPN all together remains the safest wireless solution.